Serbia Arbitration

Serbia is a Contracting State to the ICSID Convention:

  • Signature: 9 May 2007
  • Deposit of Ratification: 9 May 2007
  • Entry into Force: 8 June2007

Serbia is a Contracting State to the New York Convention:

  • Date of Succession: 12 March 2001
  • Entry into Force: 27 April 1992
  • Serbia will only apply the New York Convention to the recognition and enforcement of awards made in the territory of another contracting state & only to differences arising out of legal relationships, whether contractual or not, that are considered commercial under their national law
  • Serbia will apply the Convention only to those arbitral awards which were adopted after 27 April 2002 (the Entry into Force Date)

In 2006, Serbia enacted legislation based on the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration as adopted in 1985 and is therefore now popularly considered to be an UNCITRAL Model Law State

Serbia is a Contracting State to both the 1899 & 1907 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes:

  • 1899 Entry into Force: 5 June 2006
  • 1907 Entry into Force: 5 June 2006

Serbia is a United Nations Member State:

  • Date of Admission: 1 November 2000
  • The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was an original Member of the United Nations, the Charter having been signed on its behalf on 26 June 1945 and ratified 19 October 1945, until its dissolution following the establishment and subsequent admission as new Members of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Slovenia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was admitted as a Member of the United Nations by General Assembly resolution A/RES/55/12 of 1 November 2000. On 4 February 2003, following the adoption and promulgation of the Constitutional Charter of Serbia and Montenegro by the Assembly of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the official name of " Federal Republic of Yugoslavia" was changed to Serbia and Montenegro. In a letter dated 3 June 2006, the President of the Republic of Serbia informed the Secretary-General that the membership of Serbia and Montenegro was being continued by the Republic of Serbia, following Montenegro's declaration of independence.

Official State Name: Republic of Serbia - Република Србија - Republika Srbija

Official Language: Serbian

Capital: Belgrade

Currency: Serbian dinar (RSD)

Time Zone: CET (UTC+1)

International Calling Code: +381

Internet TLD: .rs

Location of Serbia (green) – Kosovo (light green) on the European continent (dark grey)

Coming soon.

For more details please check this URL :