Belgium Arbitration

Belgium is a contracting state to the ICSID Convention:

  • Signature: 15 December 1965
  • Deposit of Ratification: 27 August 1970
  • Entry into Force: 26 September 1970
  • Pursuant to Article 54(2) of the ICSID Convention, Belgium has designated “Minister of Foreign Affairs” as competent for the recognition and enforcement of ICSID awards
  • Pursuant to Article 69 of the ICSID Convention, Belgium enacted the Loi du 17 juillet 1970 portant approbation de la Convention pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements entre Etats et ressortissants d’autres Etats, faite à Washington le 18 mars 1965 (Off. Gaz. 185, Sept. 24, 1970, p. 9548) to make the Convention effective in their jurisdiction.
  • Pursuant to Article 13(1) of the ICSID Convention Belgium has made the following panel designations effective until *17 February 2010, **8 February 2013 & ***5 April 2016:
    *Prof. Dr. Hans VAN HOUTTE: President, Eritrea-Ethiopia Claims Commission
     **Mr. Nicolas ANGELET: Professor of Law, Université Libre de Bruxelles
     **Prof. Dr. Johan ERAUW: Professor of International Law, University of Ghent
     **Prof. Jean-Paul SERVAIS: Professor of Law, Unioversité Libre de Bruxelles
     **Mr. Eddy WYMEERSCH: Professor of Commercial Law, University of Ghent
     ***Mr. Bernard HANOTIAU: Professor of Law, Universities of Louvain and Namur
     ***Prof. Guy KEUTGEN: Chairman, Belgian Center for Arbitration and Mediation
     ***Mr. Didier MATRAY: Attorney; Former Vice-President, Market Authority of the Belgian Stock Exchange

Belgium is a contracting state to the New York Convention:

  • Signature: 10 June 1958
  • Deposit of Ratification: 18 August 1975
  • Entry into Force: 16 November 1975
  • Belgium will only apply the New York Convention to the recognition and enforcement of awards made in the territory of another contracting state

Belgium is a Contracting State to both the 1899 & 1907 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes:

  • 1899 Entry into Force: 4 September 1900
  • 1907 Entry into Force: 7 October 1910

Belgium is a United Nations Member State:

  • Date of Admission: 27 December 1945

Official State Name: Kingdom of Belgium - Koninkrijk België - Royaume de Belgique - Königreich Belgien

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German

Capital: Brussels

Currency: Euro (€) (EUR)

Time Zone: CET (UTC+1)

International Calling Code: +32

Internet TLD: .be

Location of  Belgium  (dark green)– on the European continent  (green & dark grey)– in the European Union  (green)  —  [Legend]

Coming soon.

For more details please check this URL :